My Favorite Paint Colors

I’m a neutral girl at heart. In fact, my favorite color is brown. Yes, brown. I love every shade from the palest beige to the deepest chocolate brown.

Don’t get me wrong…I like other colors, too. Like gray. And black. White is nice, too. Oh, and don’t get me started on taupe!

Do you see a pattern here?

These colors are just so soothing and restful to me. That’s what I want our home to be, which is why I’m so drawn to them.

Pony Tail by Valspar

This is a warm tan without too much yellow in it. Although it is soothing, it’s not boring. Note that it appears darker in person than it does in the photo above because of the light streaming in the window.

I’ve used it in our living room, kitchen, laundry room, school/play room and hallway to the basement. I guess you could say I like it a little bit:)

Oyster Shell by Valspar

This color is on one wall of our dining room (with the large picture), part of the kitchen and our downstairs bathroom.  I love this color because it is deep and calming all at the same time. Depending on the time of day, the color can look either brown or deep green.

Hopsack by Ralph Lauren

This is a wonderful taupey-gray color. It looks great everywhere and in all types of light.  So many people ask me about it. It’s just one of those can’t-go-wrong-colors. Home Depot doesn’t carry Ralph Lauren paints anymore, but can custom mix it for you with Behr paint.

Dry Earth by Valspar

This is a great green-khaki color. (Can you tell I get almost all of my paint from Lowe’s?) It’s a brighter green, but still very neutral. I paired it with navy blue and accents of orange for a fun and kid-friendly space.

Rhino by Behr

I painted our basement family room this cool blue. This is also one of those can’t miss colors that looks great in all types of light. This color makes it feel less like a basement and more like a real room.

Oil Rubbed Bronze Spray Paint by Rustoleum

This stuff rocks. It turned a lamp from this

to this

What a transformation for a $5 can of spray paint (with plenty leftover for future projects)!

I’m linking up to Nester’s Favorite Paint Colors linky party.

Published in: on February 4, 2011 at 8:30 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2011/02/04/my-favorite-paint%c2%a0colors/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment