Day 26: Mind your manners

Pssst…it’s my birthday today…which means I only have 364 more days left to honestly say I’m thirty-something!

(sigh)

We started this series with a few overall principles on vintage living. Then we got more specific, talking about family, home and our personal style. For the last few posts this month, I wanted to talk about some big and small ways we can apply some of those principles to our everyday life.

And that brings me to today’s topic:  manners.

Is it just me or does it seem like people today don’t have good manners?

In our very hectic, rush-rush-rush, go-go-go modern world, sometimes we get so busy and so focused in our own little worlds that we can completely forget to use our manners. This makes me sad.

I’m talking simple old-fashioned common courtesy, such as:

  • saying “please” and “thank you”
  • not interrupting when someone is speaking
  • being respectful
  • writing a handwritten thank you note after you’ve received a gift
  • before you open a closed door, knocking first
  • holding a door open for another person
  • saying “excuse me” when you accidentally bump into someone
  • offering to help (and then doing so cheerfully), and the infamous…
  • “if you can’t say something nice about someone, don’t say anything at all”

These are simple things, for sure, but they go a long way in getting along with others and living a peaceful life.

I was always taught to be polite even if someone else is rude to me. That can definitely be tough, but it’s still the right thing to do.

If I’m in the checkout line with 147 items in my cart and I notice that the person behind me is holding only a gallon a milk, I offer to let that person go first. Sometimes the person will look at me with the funniest expression. But you know what? Maybe that person will do the same for someone else down the line…

Yes, I readily admit that I’m old-fashioned. But, if I get called old-fashioned when I’m trying to be polite to others and teaching my sons to do the same?

Well, I’ll simply smile and say, “Thank you.”

Published in: on October 26, 2011 at 5:30 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2011/10/26/3515/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Happy, Happy Belated Birthday Kim. I am playing catch-up on reading all the blogs I subscribe too and missed your special day! Hope it was awesome!

    I just love reading your blog. I have an old-fashioned heart too and I love this post! It’s high time we treated each other with the Golden Rule – don’t you think? I mean if we did this consistently then we’d well be on our way to good manners! I love how you said by “teaching my sons to do the same” – you go girl! Teach by example and you’ll win in the end.

    God Bless You!

    • Wow, thank you so much for your kind words! I did have a good birthday. We ended up going to Henry Ford museum in Dearborn, Mich, which was a real treat. Then my husband and I and our boys went to a little pizza place on the way back. It was one of our first dates, so it was nice to show our boys. Thanks again and I’m glad you are enjoying this series!


Leave a Reply

