Day 21: Put on a little lipstick

So far in this series, we’ve talked about getting started and what that looks like for our homes and our families. Now, I’d like to switch gears again and talk about style.

Your personal style should be just that – personal. Special and unique, just like you.

When I was a teenager, I used to spend a lot of time getting ready. Several outfit changes, a full set of makeup, a curling iron and LOTS Of Aqua-Net (do they still make that stuff anymore?) and then I was ready to step outside – even if I was only going to the gas station.

Now that I’m a wife, mom, teacher, employee, volunteer, friend, etc., etc., I don’t have as much time to spend on my looks.

Who am I kidding? At this stage of my life, I consider flossing and shaving to be beauty treatments!

Ahem.

But there is one thing that makes me feel put together, even when I’m not.

And that, my friends, is lipstick.


Source

Have you ever called your mother looking for some deeply profound wisdom for a seemingly insurmountable situation in your life and all she could come up with was, “Just put on a little lipstick and everything will be alright.”

Ah, mothers.

So that is my deeply profound advice for you today: just put on a little lipstick. 

You choose the shade (nude, pink, plum, red, toffee) and formula (gloss, long-lasting, creamy, sheer, shimmer), but pick one that makes you feel fabulous.

I’ll be back tomorrow with some more tips on vintage style.

* * *

New here? Check out the other posts in this series.

Published in: on October 21, 2011 at 5:30 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2011/10/21/day-21-put-on-a-little-lipstick/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

