Day 19: Embrace the routine

Some of you are groaning now. I can hear it;) When I think of words like “routine”, “habit” and “discipline”, I groan, too. However, I’m learning that routines aren’t so bad. In fact, they can be quite good.

Let me give you an example.

I clean the bathrooms every Thursday. And inevitably someone will go in there and splash water on the mirror that was clean for all of thirty seconds. I used to grab the supplies and grumble about having to go back and clean the spot from the mirror. Now, I just let it go because I know that the next time Thursday rolls around, the mirror will be cleaned again.

Big messes are cleaned up right away, of course. And I also do a quick clean if I know someone is coming over.

But other than that, I leave the spot alone and get back to more important things. Like reading to my fellas or cooking a healthy and nourishing meal my family will enjoy.

Oh, and in case you were wondering, my basic household routine was actually taken from a Little House on the Prairie book of all places! That’s pretty vintage, eh?

* * *

Miss a day? Check out the rest of the series here.

Published in: on October 19, 2011 at 5:30 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2011/10/19/day-19-embrace-the-routine/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

