Day 18: Use the good dishes…

…just because it’s Tuesday.

Source

How many of us remember our mothers telling us that we can’t use the “good” china? When we asked, “Why?”, the response we got was something like, “Because they’re only to be used on special occasions, dear”.

To that I say, “Hmmmph”.

OK. I do realize that this one is not necessarily a “vintage” idea. But it should be.

To me, two of the basic premises of vintage living are using what you have and making your home as beautiful as possible on as little money as possible.

So I say this one fits;)

Tonight I’m going to set the table using our good china. I may even break out the silver. And to really bring the point home, I may even use a tablecloth and light a small candle. Our centerpiece will be a simple bowl full of lemons from the grocery store.

If you don’t have a good set of dishes, don’t let that stop you. Personally, I think some of the prettiest table settings are the ones that use an eclectic mix of dishes. Remember what the Nester always says, “It doesn’t have to be perfect to be beautiful.”

And if you have really small children, maybe you can feed them first (using your best plastic dishes, of course!), put on a video or put them to bed and then have a late dinner with your spouse. Even if you were planning on serving frozen dinners tonight, I say microwave them and then put the hot food on your good dishes. Why not?!

Nothing fancy, just pretty.

And just because it’s Tuesday.

* * *

Are you new to this series? You can find all of the “31 Days to Vintage Living” posts here. Enjoy!

Published in: on October 18, 2011 at 5:30 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2011/10/18/day-18-use-the-good-dishes/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Loving your series! I love this about today’s entry: “To me, two of the basic premises of vintage living are using what you have and making your home as beautiful as possible on as little money as possible.” I moved back in May and now I have tons of boxes yet to unpack scattered about my garage and along a wall in the house. I tend to unpack a couple of boxes a week. Just two weeks ago I finally pulled the living room together, somewhat. Now I just need to keep unpacking to find all my beauties and finally have the house become a home. Most of my boxes have been packed up for ten years (we’ve moved three times over the past ten years and I never totally unpack) but this move is most likely the final move and now is the time to work some magic, unpack every box and decorate…Maybe even some vintage magic will come out in the end! I love how you inspire me! Keep up the great work!

    • Wow! Thank you so much for your kind words. Simply surround yourself with the things you love and your house will truly be a reflection of you. I’m happy that you get to settle down and finally unpack;)


Leave a Reply

