Day 6: Live in the moment

Source

By a show of hands, how many of us can identify with this picture?

Our world is just plain busy.

It’s almost like “busy-ness” has become a status symbol for us.

It seems like the busier you are, the more important you are.

Time Management, efficiency, productivity, and multi-tasking are hot topics these days. Those buzz-words sell a lot of books and magazines. Bookstore shelves (and even our own homes) are stuffed with books that tell us how to get more done in less time.

Just for kicks, I goggled “time management”.

In .11 seconds, I had access to “about 33,800,000” links on time management. Too many for even Google to bother to count!

Um, is it any wonder why we are all so stressed out?

I’m not trying to be a downer, I’m just wondering if there is a better way.

So for today, I’m going to try to live in the moment. Really try. And I encourage you to try as well.

I realize that means different things to different people.

For me, that means doing one thing at a time and then giving it my full attention.

Simple things, like stopping what I’m doing and looking my son in the eye when he’s trying to tell me something. (All too often, he’s had to talk to the back of my head). Not good.

Or, if I’m working, I won’t try to check my email when I’m talking to a client on the phone.

If I’m working on a craft with my son, I won’t try to make homemade blueberry syrup at the same time (in a nutshell, both the craft and the syrup suffered greatly)!

I have a sneaking suspicion that if I focus on the one thing that’s most important at the moment, I not only would be able to do more, but I’d probably enjoy it more as well.

Miss a day? All the rest of the 31 Days to Vintage Living are posted here.

Published in: on October 7, 2011 at 10:49 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2011/10/07/day-6-live-in-the-moment/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

