Day 2: Seek quiet in the morning (coffee or tea optional)

Source

Are you a morning person? If so, good for you!

Me? Not so much.

I’m a night owl through and through, but I happen to be married to a lark.

The Lord has such a sense of humor, doesn’t he?

By the time I roll out of bed, my husband has already had his morning devotions and coffee and is dressed and starting to make the boys’ (who are up by this time as well) breakfast.

<this is me hanging my head in shame right now>

Yes, I have the benefit of sleeping a little bit longer, but I pay a hefty price.

I start the day behind and then feel like I’m constantly trying to catch up.

If I would just set my alarm to wake up 10 minutes earlier and have a little bit of time to myself, maybe even read a couple of Bible verses when I become coherent, what a difference that would make in my day.

So that’s what I’m going to do…set my alarm for 6:33 am and actually force myself to get out of bed right then.

My papa was always an early riser. I remember him having been up for what seemed like hours before I came downstairs ready to start my day. Even after he was retired and my mother had passed, he still kept that habit. He was done with whatever he needed to do well before lunch and then he was free to do whatever he wanted for the rest of the day. The early bird gets the worm, so to speak.

Tom (my husband) has a similar story. He remembers his dad waking up at 5:30 am every day just so he could read the paper and have a cup of coffee in peace before he went to work. With a wife and four growing kids living in a very small house with an even smaller bathroom, I imagine he relished that little slice of quiet, maybe even craved it.

The point in getting up a little bit earlier is not to get a head start on your “to do” list. The point is to get filled up so you have something to give to others.

So yesterday, I made the decision to slow down. And for the most part I did. (The fact that it was a Saturday really helped:)

Today, I’ll start my day off bright and early – and look for someone to fill up.

I love them that love me; and those that seek me early shall find me. Proverbs 8:17 (emphasis mine)

Miss a day? All the rest of the 31 Days to Vintage Living are posted here.

Published in: on October 2, 2011 at 5:30 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2011/10/02/day-2-seek-out-some-quiet-in-the-morning-coffee-or-tea-optional/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

