New Series: 31 Days of Vintage Living in a Modern World – Day 1: Slow. Down.

Source

The Nester has invited all bloggers to pick a topic and write a post about it every day in the month of October.

I’ve been tossing around the idea in my head for a while now and have decided to participate.

Just how many posts do I have written? Um, don’t go there. I assure you, they are all written, they’re just floating around in my head, which can be a scary place sometimes, I freely admit!

So…for the next 30 days, I’m going to challenge myself to incorporate a little bit of vintage living in our modern world. For the first several days, I’ll go over some general principles to us get started on this journey. Then we’ll spend a little bit of time on four main areas:  Family, Home, Style and Life.

And just so you know, I plan on sharing the good, the bad and the downright ugly right here in my little piece of cyberspace.

But before we begin, let’s all take a deep breath now, shall we?

Ready? On the count of three.

One…

two…

three!

<big deep breath in>

<breathe out, nice and slow>

Now, don’t you feel better? I sure do.

Welcome to Vintage Living in a Modern World, Day 1:  Slow. Down.

Easier said than done right?

Wrong.

It can be done – even in the midst of this crazy busy, nonstop world we live in.

But yes, there is a catch:  first we need to make up our minds that we’re gonna do it. Then we just need to do it.

You may be thinking, “OK, but really, what does that look like?”

I’m glad you asked.

It means that we will decide right now to talk a little bit more slowly, eat a little bit more slowly, walk a little bit more slowly, (gulp) drive a little bit more slowly and yes, even think a little bit more slowly than we normally would.

So, if you’ve been operating in “Super Fast” mode, give yourself permission to slow down to “Fast” or even “Less Fast” mode for the next 30 days. Whatever you are comfortable with – just as long as it’s a bit slower than your usual pace!

I don’t know about you, but for me, hurry has been such a habit for so long that I don’t even realize I’m hurrying anymore.

Why am I in such a rush all the time?

There’s no good answer other than, “It’s habit”. And that’s why I want to slow down.

Who knows? You and I just might have a much more pleasant day because we actually slowed down long enough to enjoy it.

So that, my friends, is our assignment for today:  Kick “Hurry” to the curb, along with her friends, “Rush” and “Faster, Faster”.

And, I’m even going to write “Slow Down” on some index cards and put them in strategic places around the house to remind myself to take it slow.

Tell me, are you in?

All the links to the 31 days of Vintage Living in a Modern World are listed here.

Published in: on October 1, 2011 at 5:30 am  Comments (3)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2011/10/01/new-series-31-days-of-vintage-living-in-a-modern-world-day-1-slow-down/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. First blog I checked out. ;0) Sounds good and I’m looking forward to those written in your head.

  2. The joke around here is that I want to be like the Waltons, from TV. ( Which my kids remind me.) But it was the simplicity of life that I enjoyed, the working together vs you owe me or how much will you pay me attitude I see today.
    Talking to people instead of being on the phone texting, or talkin on the phone in line.
    Let’s SLOW doowwnn and look around at all we have been given, and start working on realationships that will effect so many lives.
    THANK YOU for sharing your heart,
    Blessings

    • that’s funny, I joke that I want to live in Mayberry! Different location, same sentiment. Thank you for your kind words. It’s so hard to slow down when everyone else around you is in a mad rush…


Leave a Reply

