A little decorating inspiration

Happy Friday!

Where do all your great decorating ideas from?

Mine come from all over.

There are several decorating and organizing blogs I follow (you can see which ones in the right hand column), magazines like Better Homes and Gardens, House Beautiful and Martha Stewart, free catalogs like Pottery Barn and Ballard Design, decorating books from the library (these tend to be older, though – boo!) or simply visiting model homes and the homes of my friends.

I also scope out hotel rooms and lobbies when I get the chance, but alas, these days I almost never travel…

Recently, I picked up a couple of decorating magazines:

I was really impressed by the Country French magazine. Actually, I should call it a book, because at $9.99, that is how I justified buying it!!

Here are a few images that inspired me and I hope they will inspire you, too. The first image is from Flea Market Style and the rest are from Country French.

So much to love about the corner of this kitchen. The relaxed formality and the simple utilitarian beauty make me swoon.

Look closely and you’ll see that the sheer curtain is actually hiding a staircase. What an inexpensive and clever way to make it visually disappear.

The caned French settee, the oversize mirror with chippy paint and the iron sconces are all very grand and beautiful. But what really caught my eye was the old bird bath filled with moss balls and brought inside. So simple and lovely.


Hmmm…I’m seeing a pattern of sitting areas! What caught my eye about this one was the muted and deep colors of the landscape on the wall. I also like the understated beauty of the rug.

Last, but not least, here is a peaceful courtyard outside a stone farmhouse in a Provence in France. I don’t feel the slightest need to ever own something like that, but it sure does elevate humble pea gravel and boxwoods, don’t you think?

In other news, I’m debating whether or not to start a “31 days” series for the month of October. Although I usually post most days, it’s never on the same subject. I tend to skip around if you hadn’t noticed;)

What do you think? 31 days of vintage living in a modern world, anyone?

Leave me a comment and let me know.

Published in: on September 30, 2011 at 9:24 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2011/09/30/a-little-decorating-inspiration/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

