My favorite pillow so far: A Tutorial

My boys just left for football practice. That means I have a little over an hour to myself in a quiet house.

So…I made a little something!

Can you guess what it was?

A pillow, you say?

Why, you are right!

This is my favorite so far.

Even though I’ve made a lot of pillows, I’ve never made ones with trim. They just intimidated me because I thought I’d have to sew every gather by hand and an expert sewer I am not.

But a quick check at Hobby Lobby earlier in the week uncovered this:

Pre-made ruffled trim. For $1.99 per yard.

Suddenly, I wasn’t so intimidated anymore;)

Here is how I made it.

The easiest way to begin is to lay your fabric out on a flat surface with a pillow insert (available at any craft store) on top like so:

Make sure to leave about an inch all the way around for your seam allowance when you cut. Repeat this step so that you have two matching squares.

Next, lay the edge of your trim between the two right sides of the fabric and pin all the way around.

Then sew your edges together, making sure to back stitch at the beginning and the end. Be sure to leave an open space in the center of one of the edges (about a little larger than the width of your hand) so that you can stuff the pillow insert inside.

Once you are done sewing, turn the pillow inside out. It should look like this:

Well, looky who decided to stop by:

Mental note:  give the cat a name already!

Now cram gently stuff the pillow insert inside the case. Take a needle and thread and hand sew the opening closed. I used a lighter tan color to match the burlap, not the trim, in case you were wondering.

Here is what it should look like at this point:

I like it, but it needs a little somethin’. A quick trip to The Graphics Fairy yielded this lovely barn swallow image:

To save on ink, I enlarged the image on my computer screen, traced it with a dull pencil and then carefully cut it out:

I used a fabric marker to outline the image directly onto my pillow:

Almost done…

I grabbed two paint brushes from my sons’ art supplies and my leftover fabric paint from this project:

You’ll want to make sure your fabric paint says SOFT on it. Otherwise it’s kinda crunchy. Um, ask me how I know;)

Then just paint within the lines:

The label on the fabric paint said to let it dry for four hours before the first use. But since it’s well after 8 pm and the boys are fast asleep, I thought it was safe to put the pillow in my favorite chair:

I love how it turned out. It only cost me $4 worth of trim because I already had the burlap, fabric paint and brushes.

This was fun to do and I finished it off in one evening while the boys’ were at football practice.

Hmmm…maybe there is an upside to being a football widow after all!

I linked this up to Frugal Friday at The Shabby Nest and the Best DIY Project of September at Beneath My Heart.

Published in: on September 29, 2011 at 5:30 am  Comments (4)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2011/09/29/my-favorite-pillow-so-far-a-tutorial/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. This turned out adorable! I am going to highlight it on my blog! Thanks for linking up,
    Traci

    • Wow, Traci! I’m very honored. Thanks so much for linking to my project! Oh, and my name is Kim (which I’ll now display prominently;)

  2. […] up is Make Mine Vintage.  She (I couldn’t find her name on her blog.) made this cute little burlap pillow and shows […]

  3. beautiful.. thanks for such a precise and easy tutorial!


Leave a Reply

