Frugal Finds – September 2011

So, did anyone do some thrifting over the weekend?

After my boys’ flag football season opener, double-header (they are now 0-2!), I was able to go to Goodwill’s half off sale. Here is what I bought:

metal basket (it will hold books to be returned to the library), $4:

two frames, $1.40 for both:

snow globe, $2:


small apothecary jar, $1:

I filled it with split peas…you’ll know why later this week!

Metal sign, $0.40:

acorn name card holders, $0.49 each:

Quick funny story about these – I was BEYOND excited when I discovered what they were. There were even eight of them – a complete set! I very gingerly carried these throughout the bustling store and carefully set them on the counter to pay for them – and the cashier dropped one! Not only did it break, but it rolled under a huge counter on wheels, so I couldn’t even try to repair it at home. I was so bummed. It wasn’t her fault and she did apologize. I didn’t get mad, I just tried to show grace and tell myself that people are way more important than things. And in the end, it’s all just stuff.

I also bought two nice shirts, a pair of jeans and a pair of dress pants for my boys – all half price. I gotta tell ya, finding pants for boys second hand is no small feat. Boys are just really hard on clothes – esp the knees – but God is still gracious to provide.

Published in: on September 26, 2011 at 11:35 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2011/09/26/frugal-finds-september-2011/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Hi…I love the goodwill too! I wanted to let you know that I used your side table before and after on my site today! You can check it out at http://www.fortheloveofpainting.com…I am still getting into this blogging thing and so far I am having a great time, great job on your side table!


Leave a Reply

