Creamy Overnight Oatmeal

Have you ever tried steel cut oats?

It’s just a less processed version of traditional rolled oats. Nevertheless, it always intimidated me. Plus, it had to be cooked for a half hour on the stove. That doesn’t exactly satisfy my need to fix a quick nutritious breakfast. Nutritious? Yes. Quick? No.

Then I stumbled across a slow cooker recipe for oatmeal from Alton Brown. No idea there was such a thing.

So I tried it – and I love it! My husband does, too.

My boys? Not so much.

No matter, there’s just more for us;)

The recipe couldn’t be easier. Just put the ingredients in a slow cooker before you go to bed and in the morning you’ll wake up to a piping hot bowl of this:

Creamy Overnight Oatmeal

  • 1 C steel cut oats
  • 1 C dried cranberries
  • 4 C water
  • 1/2 C half-and-half (I used whole milk instead)

Put all the ingredients in a slow cooker and cook on low for eight or nine hours. (I like to add a bit of milk, brown sugar and some chopped pecans – yum)! Makes 4 servings.

Notes:  The original recipe called for the addition of 1 C dried figs. I didn’t add them but I bet that would be delicious as well. The dried cranberries actually plump back up after a night in the slow cooker which makes them very yummy. Store any leftovers in the fridge and reheat in the microwave.

Published in: on September 14, 2011 at 5:30 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2011/09/14/creamy-overnight-oatmeal/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

