The Big Reveal: The Armoire

Here is possibly the world’s worst before picture:

It may not look too bad, but trust me, it was. This piece is solid cherry, but had been given a very bad pale yellow paint job, which was why it was given to me. And when I say bad, I mean, the brush strokes were against the grain of the wood.

Yeah, I know.

In my mind, I pictured one of those old, chippy, handmade-looking cabinets in a bright color – the ones that were showing more than a couple of decades worth of wear and tear.

I’m kind of crushing on green right now so I went with Valspar’s Woodlawn Promised Land. It’s a historic color (which I love), but it was also a saturated green that wasn’t too warm or too cool. Just perfect for my new-to-me office.

Next came the work…a light sanding + two coats of green paint + taking out my aggressions a bit of distressing with a palm sander (thanks J and P for letting me borrow yours!) + a dark walnut stain brushed on then rubbed off with a rag gave it the look I was going for.

And here she is after:

I couldn’t be happier with my new old-looking cabinet.

To take the whole rustic thing even further, I opted for simple knotted twine handles, rather than knobs.

They would be really easy to switch out with some crystal knobs if I decide to change my mind later.

So this is what’s big and green and living in my office/mom cave now. It fits in nicely with some of the other things I’ve been working on for the space, such as the gallery wall, little blue side table, orange chair and bird artwork.

It’s turning out to be quite the colorful space, I tell ya! Such a departure from my normal “hi, my name is Kim and my favorite colors are gray, brown, black and white” kind of girl.

Stay tuned to see how it all comes together.

I’m linking this up to Frugal Friday at the Shabby Nest and Furniture Feature Friday at Miss Mustard Seed.

Published in: on September 8, 2011 at 10:04 pm  Comments (12)  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2011/09/08/the-big-reveal-the-armoire/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

12 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. LOVE it Kim! Especially the twine handles;)!!!

    • I thought you might like them! The hole wasn’t big enough to double up the twine or braid it, but it works for now:)

  2. Love the green! So cute!

  3. love it! and love the idea of adding crystal knobs (or burnished copper) later

  4. Really fabulous color choice! That is a spectacular transformation! 🙂

    • That’s so sweet. Thank you so much! It was my first attempt at distressing something that much and I’m relieved it turned out:)

  5. I adore it!! I just used a green for the first time and love it.

  6. It looks awesome, I could quite easily have that in my home!! Well done!

    • Wow! Thanks so much for the encouragement. I must admit I had my doubts along the way, like opening up the can of green paint and later taking the palm sander to it!

  7. This green whistled at me over on MMS link party! I love Antibes in the Chalk Paint and am so glad to see a piece in a color so like it. This loverly green is a breath of fresh air in the “smog” of overdone/popular grays. Bravo!

    • Hey, thank you so much! You nailed it…the green color in ASCP was my inspiration. That and I’m just positively crushin on green right now;)

  8. I love how this turned out!! It looks gorgeous!! I love the distressed look of it!


Leave a Reply

