Work or worship?

Most people would say that work and worship are two different things.

But are they?

There is a Latin saying, “Laborare est orare; orare est laborare.” Translated into English, it reads, “To work is to worship; to worship is to work.”

Let that sink in for a moment.

“To work is to worship; to worship is to work.”

No matter what type of work you do – changing diapers, washing dishes, cleaning houses, waiting tables or meeting with a client – let it be done with an attitude of worship. The Bible says it this way:

And whatever you do in word or deed, do all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through Him.

Colossians 3:17

 Whatever you do, do it for the Lord. And be thankful.

Later on in the same chapter, Paul repeats himself when he says, “And whatever you do, do it heartily, as to the Lord and not to men, knowing that from the Lord you will receive the reward of the inheritance; for you serve the Lord Christ.” Col 3:24.

Why are we to work heartily (or diligently)? Look at the last part of the verse…“for you serve the Lord Christ.”

Let that be our motivation when our days are a series of seemingly menial tasks strung together.

As a side note:  It’s taken me more than one hour to write these very few words. Even as I type I can’t count the times I’ve been interrupted…I’ve cut my son’s wayward toenail, made breakfast, cleaned up some spilled orange juice, made a list for what I need to do for school that starts tomorrow, corrected unkind words between brothers, etc., etc., and with each interruption, I feel myself getting more and more frustrated.

Then I come back and see what I’ve been writing about – and I am convicted. I need to look at those very things not as interruptions, but as worship, because this is the work that God has given me during this season of life.

I hope that these words encourage you and give you a fresh view of ALL work.

Published in: on August 28, 2011 at 8:01 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2011/08/28/work-or-worship/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

