I bought myself a big little somethin’

I carved out a dressing area in an unused corner of our bedroom. Notice that there is no mirror, just the frame (which explains why that corner is never, ever used).

My hope was to clean up the dusty, ugly mustard yellow frame that had been sitting in my papa’s basement for decades and have a mirror cut to fit.

After calling some local glass shops, I was disappointed to find out that it would be around $100 for the mirror, not including installation. That was also for the thinnest mirror they offer and.I.have.two.boys.

Not good.

So I thought about it for months and the lovely ornate frame, now painted black, was collecting dust again.

Just yesterday, I was wandering through Walmart looking for a small bookcase for our school room and happened upon this:

I held my breath as a searched for a price tag. Only $44. Sold.

So now here is what the corner looks like:

I love it when stuff finds me.

Published in: on August 26, 2011 at 5:30 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2011/08/26/i-bought-myself-a-big-little-somethin/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

