15 Minutes to a Clean and Pretty Nightstand

What’s lurking in your nightstand drawer?

Here’s what was in mine:

Clockwise from top left:

  • orphaned command strip
  • lip balm
  • ribbon bookmark
  • tooth fairy pillow – containing three teeth! All together now “Ew…!”
  • my first Bible, dated 1982
  • neosporin
  • anniversary card from my husband
  • missing button from our duvet, patiently waiting to be mended
  • more lip balm
  • alarm clock (which I don’t need because I have two boys that wake me up very early every morning!)
  • another missing button from our duvet
  • hand sanitizer
  • eye cream
  • heel stick
  • more neosporin
  • cotton gloves from the dollar store (which I wear after I slather my cracked hands with neosporin in the winter)
  • hair band (not the 80s kind – the kind that holds my oft-worn pony tail)

Yikes. A good clean out was way overdue.

So while I was at it, I thought I would make it not only organized, but pretty.

Enter scrapbook paper. Oh, how I love thee!

I flipped the drawer over and cut the paper to fit,

flipped the drawer back over, inserted the paper and then put back only the things that I love or use:

Ahh, much better. And it took less than 15 minutes to do.

For extra credit, I even dusted the top and put only the book I’m currently RE-reading on it (A Mother’s Heart by Jean Fleming, which is excellent in case you were wondering). All other books are stashed in a basket underneath:

Hmmm…now I’m off to make my bed!

Published in: on August 15, 2011 at 9:27 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2011/08/15/15-minutes-to-a-clean-and-pretty-nightstand/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

