Render Grace

I love Rie’s blog, Home and Harmony.

As I was perusing it, I came across this saying, “Render grace”, which is French for “Give thanks”.

Did you catch the double meaning? “Render” means “to give”.

To give grace.

What a great reminder.

Rie transferred the saying onto an old shutter and hung it in her dining room to remember to be thankful. My interpretation made it onto what else – a pillow.

I simply reused the pillow insert my boys drew on with marker (those rascals!), cut up a linen curtain from a garage sale and stenciled the saying on with a black fabric marker. One that was, in fact, losing some of its juice. And obviously, I didn’t even iron the fabric.

No matter. I love how it turned out. To me, the style of the writing should complement the words. That’s why I don’t mind that it’s imperfect.

The lesson is this:  If we were perfect, we wouldn’t need grace.

So this not-so-little pillow now lives in our living room – the center of our home – in our favorite chair.

What better place to remind me to “Render grace”?

I linked this post up to Frugal Friday at The Shabby Nest.

Published in: on July 28, 2011 at 9:26 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2011/07/28/render-grace/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

