Decorating Serendipity

Question for you:  Does anyone else ever find stuff they love, bring it home and then try to make it work later?

Oh, then it must just be me.

Because I brought home this lonely orange tufted chair from a rummage sale earlier this summer.

After painting the legs a rich espresso brown, it happily found a home in a corner of my new office space.

There was only one problem. It stuck out like a sore thumb because 1) it’s ORANGE, and 2) there was no trace of the color anywhere else in the room.

<Fast forward about two and a half months>

While I was out getting some school supplies, I stopped into TJ Maxx (something I rarely do) and stumbled upon this: 

It works perfectly. And it was marked down to $7.

So now this sweet little birdie print hangs above the chair.

please ignore bad lighting, the photo was taken at about 10 p.m.

So there you have it – a happy little decorating serendipity.

Published in: on July 26, 2011 at 5:30 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2011/07/26/decorating-serendipity/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I do this all the time. Some of my items are still awaiting their purpose or partner to be found. I am glad there is someone else out there that does this too. I love your chair by the way. And your cushion. It looks like this little corner of your room is shaping up quite nicely 🙂

    • I knew I wasn’t the only one!! I’m working on refinishing a large cabinet for the room and it’s going to be bold. Stay tuned. Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment!


Leave a Reply

