Not Your Grandmother’s Swimsuit

Are you looking for a swimsuit that has more coverage, but doesn’t look like something a grandmother would wear?

Me, too.

Let’s just say I was less than thrilled with the idea of putting on a bathing suit during our recent camping excursion.

I mentioned that to my husband before work one day. A little bit later, he emailed me a link to this:

It’s a swimdress from Lands’ End.

I LOVE it.

It’s pretty and practical and (in my humble opinion) very cute. Oh, it was on sale with an additional 30 percent off. Plus free shipping.

I just checked and it’s actually under $25 now. Boo.

He encouraged me to buy it, it came in the mail a few days later and I love it even more in person.

It’s modest enough so that I don’t feel exposed and yet it’s very flattering on – even in the dreaded tummy area. (I had twins, remember?)

So here is me doing a little happy dance…

and giving thanks for a sweet husband.

* * * * *

All of their swimwear is on clearance now. Lots of cute styles, colors and sizes left. I don’t receive anything for telling you – just passing along a great deal when I find one:)

Published in: on July 15, 2011 at 5:30 am  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2011/07/15/not-your-grandmothers-swimsuit/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Thanks Kim! I’ve been eyeing that bathing suit since I got the Summer catalog in February or something ridiculous like that. ha ha I ordered one! You’re right – they are 25 bucks now. BUT, i wonder if you went into Sears to the Lands End area if they would do a price match?? Try it! 🙂

    • TOO FUNNY! Great minds think alike (wink!)

      I didn’t even know that Sears sold Lands End – I haven’t been to the mall in ages…will try it, though. Thanks for the tip!

  2. Ok, so I got my suit today. LOVE LOVE LOVE! Where has this suit been all my life? Well, all my post-babies life. LOL

    I seriously can’t wait to go swimming now! ha! So glad I saw your post and was able to snatch one up! woo-hoo!

    Oh, and as a fellow lover of bargains, I was just checking out at Kohls earlier today and the checkout lady said, “You saved $280-ish” today.” The woman TWO people behind me said, “WHOA! Good for you! How much did you spend!” ha ha I only spent 80 bucks and I got a pair of shoes – clearance, a really cute purse – clearance, a necklace that had been 100 dollars for Elise’s birthday next year for around 15 – clearance. I only bought one thing that wasn’t clearance, but was still on sale. LOVE it. 🙂

    • So happy for you! I gave mine the inaugural run when we were camping this week (will blog about THAT adventure later) and was in love as well. It was super flattering and I actually wasn’t the least bit self conscious – which is a first:)
      Wow…I am SO impressed. Love, love Kohl’s. You rock! KLC


Leave a Reply

