Good Old Fashioned Pancakes with Cherry Butter

All three of my boys (!) had been asking me to make them pancakes.

There’s not enough time on weekday mornings and our usual breakfast fare on Sunday is either cold cereal or oatmeal.

We had just bought a new cast iron griddle and wanted to give it a whirl.

So this past Saturday, pancakes it was.

They are really easy to make so why I waited so long to make them, I just don’t know.

Here’s a link to the recipe I used. It comes from a friend of mine who is pretty much a wizard in the kitchen. I’m not even exaggerating. I look over the menu plans she posts on her blog and seriously wonder how I could wrangle a dinner invite!

After I started making the recipe though, I realized I wouldn’t have enough maple syrup to pour over the pancakes.

And what are pancakes without real maple syrup anyway?! 

What to do, what to do…

I ended up finely chopping some fresh cherries we had picked up at a local market and mixing them into a stick of butter. (I’ve seen this done with savory herbs, like rosemary or thyme before, but not with fruit, so I wasn’t exactly sure how it was going to turn out).

But I was desperate so I thought I would give it a try.

Know what?

None of us even missed the syrup!

The light and fluffy golden brown pancakes with melted cherry butter were delicious. I just ate dinner and my mouth is watering from thinking about them!

So the moral of the story is to get creative with what you have – and keep an extra bottle of maple syrup in the cupboard.

For emergencies, of course.

Enjoy!

Published in: on July 14, 2011 at 5:30 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2011/07/14/good-old-fashioned-pancakes-with-cherry-butter/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

