Unclutter Your Mind

I can’t help myself.

Lately I’ve been on what I affectionately call an organizing frenzy.

Not so much with “stuff” per se, but with something I think is infinitely harder to organize.

TIME.

(Money is a close second).

After my I-was-looking-at-the-wrong-day-in-my-planner-turned-nasty-and-grumpy day, I decided to devote some time solely to organizing, well…time.

I locked myself in my new office space and sat down with some super sophisticated organizing tools:

Yep, a cheap pad of paper and a poorly sharpened pencil. That and the determination that I WILL make some progress in the quest to manage my time well.

And I have to say I was.not.disappointed.

Four hours and several cups of herbal tea later, this is what I had to show for it:

Not impressed?

I know it doesn’t look like much, but somehow I felt strangely lighter and freer.

<insert image of a young woman running through a wheat field with very dramatic and familiar music playing in the background>

Because everything was written down on paper and in one place, my mind was strangely uncluttered. I also made myself do more than a few of the quick and easy things that had been floating around unfinished in my brain.

Here is what I was able to do in that amount of uninterrupted time:

  • transferred all my appointments and reminders from random post it notes into one monthly calendar
  • created  two simple routines – one for morning, one for evening
  • created a flexible weekly summer schedule for me and my kids
  • made a chore chart for my boys so they learn some responsibility (and I don’t have to do it all)
  • entered an embarrassing amount of receipts into our budgeting software
  • updated my list of passwords (I know you’re not supposed to do this, but seriously, who can remember them all?!)
  • went through my recipe binder and wrote out a list of our most favorite dinners and sides by category
  • updated my computerized grocery list
  • updated my address book
  • created a list of the major activities we do/want to do by month, (i.e., boys’ birthday in April, plan out garden in May, sort and put away summer clothes in September, etc.)
  • made a master to do list for short-term things to do
  • made another list of projects we’d like to do, i.e., install cabinets in our laundry room to store bulk food and paper products, transfer photos to new laptop
  • sorted my large paper pile into categories
  • created a binder for this blog

Needless to say, I was on a mission that was a long, long time overdue.

And now, I’m on a mission to help other people be better organized with their time as well.

Why?

That wise old Ben Franklin said it best:

“Dost thou love life? Then do not squander time, for that is the stuff life is made of.”

Starting on Monday, I’ll periodically share what works and doesn’t in the hopes that it will help someone else to better manage our most precious commodity:  Time.

And I promise it’s tiny baby steps all the way.

Will you join me?

* * * * *

Oh, and for those of you that actually came back after my bad day rant, THANK YOU.

I am now back to my generally-happy-go-lucky, vintage-loving, frugal self:)

Published in: on July 9, 2011 at 6:14 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2011/07/09/unclutter-your-mind/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

