Mama Said There’d Be Days Like This

Yesterday was bad.

The kind of bad day in which Alexander (as in Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day) could relate. 

No, it didn’t involve waking up with gum in my hair or being forced to eat lima beans for dinner, but it was stinky just the same.

Allow me to vent for just a moment.

I was late getting to an outing with a homeschool group I belong to.

(Incidentally, this was the same outing in which I somehow managed to be exactly one week early for. But alas, that is another story…).

I rushed around this morning, threw the boys in the car and headed out to meet the group at our city’s nature trail. Like a responsible person, I wrote down the directions so I knew where to go and when I got to the road I was supposed to turn on, it was closed.

As in completely. No thru traffic, not even open to local businesses. Big construction vehicles in motion – you get the picture.

Found an alternate route and ended up getting there, but late.

Told my story to the other moms who chuckled and sympathized and then I temporarily lost my mind.

As in, I wrote down on my nametag (we’re a new group and just getting to know each other) that my boys were 9.

Ummm, they are, in fact, not 9, but 8.

I laughed it off, but seriously – where IS my mind these days?

Walked the nature trail and was only splashed with swamp water three times.

After that, I went to Target for an ink cartridge for our printer. Was pricier than other places, but they had it in stock, so into the cart it went.

Back at home, I decided to catch up on a little work I’d put off, but I was having trouble logging in.

Called my company’s help desk and was told, “there’s nothing more we can do for you. You’ll have to take your computer somewhere else to get it fixed.”

“What? Seriously?”

Let me get this straight. I can do everything else on my computer, EXCEPT log into THEIR network, but somehow I’m told that I HAVE TO PAY for SOMEONE ELSE to ‘fix’ my computer, when clearly, it’s an issue with THEIR system.

That doesn’t sound too helpful to me.

So that’s it? My 10+ year career with a company that I love ends with a helpdesk tech telling me, “sorry, we can’t help you.”

After hanging up the phone, I did the most professional and mature thing I could think of.

I cried. BIG tears.

Look at the clock. Time for dinner. Don’t feel like cooking.

<Insert $5 pizza here>

Hubby home. He takes over taking care of the kids and I take my aggression out decide to trim an overgrown shrub.

Edward Scissor-hands style.

Sweaty, dirty and smelly, I crawl into the tub to take a hot bath…

…and promptly remember that our hot water heater is not working.

And my Sears-repairman father hasn’t returned my call.

Day…please, please end.

It did (eventually). And I survived.

Today is a new day.

I promise that I will try hard to be back to my normal cheerful, easy-going, vintage self tomorrow.

My mom said that some days are like that too, Alexander.

Even in Australia.

Published in: on July 8, 2011 at 5:45 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2011/07/08/mama-said-thered-be-days-like-this/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

