Dresser Makeover, Take 5

I spied this dresser at Goodwill (shocker) in Battle Creek about three years ago for $9.99. Yes, you read that right. Only ten bucks.

She’s a beauty, I know. (At least she will be).

A good portion of the original veneer on one of the drawers was missing as were two of the original casters, but other than that she was in great shape. Solid wood, all the drawers work, original hardware, dovetail joints, oh yeah. She even came with a cool curvy mirror.

I’ve had several ideas on how to redo this dresser. Five to be exact:

  • Take 1:  Re-veneer the drawer front. A roll of veneer was $20, not including the stain to match. Next.
  • Take 2:  Fill in the missing veneer with woodfiller and paint it. Note to self: woodfiller works great on small areas, not large ones. Moving right along.
  • Take 3:  Decoupage it with wrapping paper. Nope. I couldn’t get the paper to smooth out for anything so I tore it all off before it dried. Next.

I should mention that at this point, I was very tempted to roll it out to the curb on its antique casters. But I’m not going to let the dresser beat me. Oh no.

  • Take 4:  What about wallpaper? I couldn’t find one that I liked for cheap enough. Plus, I envisioned my boys running around the store grabbing rolls of wallpaper and using them as swords while I fruitlessly tried to look through a 15-inch thick book of discontinued wallpaper samples. Next.
  • Take 5:  My last ditch effort was to cover up the badly chipped wood veneer with a coat of paint and a stencil.

About three years and five tries later, she’s finally finished.

The stenciling part was actually the easiest of all the options (except for painting all one color) and I do love how it FINALLY turned out.

So the moral of the story is this, if you find a $10 dresser that has some bad veneer, but is in otherwise good shape, consider buying it. If you can’t spruce it up, you didn’t lose much. At the very least, you’ll keep it out of a landfill and maybe even find a less noble use for it somewhere in your house.

Just aim to get it finished in less than three years 😉

I linked this post up to Miss Mustard Seed’s Furniture Feature Friday and WhisperWood Cottage’s Authentic Style Series featuring Miss Mustard Seed.

Published in: on July 5, 2011 at 10:34 am  Comments (3)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2011/07/05/dresser-makeover-take-5/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. So cute and freshened up with white! Nice job. Thank you for seeing “crisp and fresh” where others might see “dingy and dated…oh yeah and boring”

    Visiting from MMS Linky Party today

    ~Suzanne in Illinois

    • Hi there, thanks so much for the encouragement and for stopping by! I guess it proves that persistence really is a good virtue to have:)

  2. Love Love Love this dresser! You did an amazing job!!


Leave a Reply

