What is Love?

My sons usually get along pretty well – most of the time.

Then there are “those days”.

Yes, we had a couple of them last week. The ones where there is near constant bickering and just general nastiness between them.

I took each boy aside and asked him if he knew what love really is. Then I opened up my Bible and asked if he wanted to know what God had to say about love.

He said yes.

I read these verses to him:

“Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. 5 It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. 6 Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. 7 It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails…” (1 Corinthians 13:4-8a)

Then I asked him if he was showing that type of love to his brother.

After a pause, a feeble little, “no” came out of his mouth. At that moment, I knew that the Holy Spirit was at work in his precious little heart.

I asked him to remember those verses the next time he was tempted to talk to his brother in an unloving way.

He apologized to his brother and then he prayed for forgiveness.

Then I did the same thing with my other son.

Parenting is really, really hard. Scratch that – trying to be a really good godly parent is down right impossible without God.

I wish I didn’t struggle so, but I guess that is what keeps me humble and completely dependent on the Lord. Plus, an added bonus is that whatever I say to my sons from the Bible is also a great reminder for me. Funny how it happens right when I need to be reminded the most.

Father God, please teach me to love others as you do. Help me to be an example of your love every day. And thank you for being quick to forgive me when I mess up. Amen.

Published in: on July 3, 2011 at 5:30 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2011/07/03/what-is-love/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

