Decorating with Maps

I bought this book for $1 at a book sale held at our local library.

It’s an atlas from 1997 (apparently that’s old – sheesh!).

I thought maybe I could frame one of the maps and use it in our boys’ room. The theme in there is “vintage transportation” and so I thought I map would be perfect.

Here is the space on top of the dresser before:

Messy, I know.

Just a little while later, here is the after:

Much better.

All I did was rip out a map from the book (true book lovers look away) and cut it to fit my frame. The frames were originally two art prints that I had in my stash. 

Then I took some of this:

and rubbed it all over the bright white maps to make them look old.

To hang the frames, I simply eyeballed it. Lest you think I can hang pictures perfectly in my sleep – the second one took three tries to get it right!

The accessories were easy. The copper plane is actually a music box. I think it was handmade. I bought it for $7 at Goodwill several months ago.  It still works. It plays, “Dream the Impossible Dream”.

The “J” was on clearance for $2 at a quaint little shop from our trip to Shipshewana and the bead game was $3, also from Goodwill.

Now, if only the top of the dresser would stay this neat.

(Sigh)

Published in: on June 30, 2011 at 5:30 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2011/06/30/decorating-with-maps/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

