The Derby-Inspired Beach Hat

I found this not-so-little beach hat at Target for $2.50. It’s cute, for sure, but a little plain.

(Note that I’m not complaining because it was less than the cost of a Happy Meal, woohoo!)

So how do I embellish something that will see a lot of wear this summer at the beach (or while gardening in my backyard)?

The over-the-top hats worn at the Kentucky Derby were my inspiration:

Photo source

The white hat at the top is just darling. (Seriously, could the woman possibly be any cuter?!) I would totally wear that, but it would have to be the right occasion – like the Kentucky Derby!!

Back to my hat.

I decided that just wearing a huge bright pink hat like this at the beach would be a statement in and of itself, so I decided to embellish it rather gently. Five little cloth flowers made from leftover scrap fabric did the trick:

Now, it remains to be seen whether or not my family (remember I’m English AND Hillbilly) will claim me if I’m wearing this hat in public.

I’ll have to let you know:)

Published in: on June 24, 2011 at 5:30 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2011/06/24/the-derby-inspired-beach-hat/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

