Stylish Storage

Do you remember this little cabinet that was in my old closet-turned-office?

Well, I painted it.

I couldn’t help it. The dark wood finish which I normally love wasn’t working in my new office. It was originally a spice cabinet that my mom ordered from the Spiegel catalog a couple of decades ago. Now it holds my office supplies.

Here is the after:

I didn’t use spray paint this time. (I tried it first, but it streaked). So, I brushed on two thin coats of satin finish black paint (no primer). And then I distressed it with – what else – 100 grit sandpaper.

I loved the original knob so it stayed.

Then I had some fun accessorizing the top.

The blue glass canning jar was $1 at Goodwill. The book it is sitting on was from the free cart at our church. The wooden model was originally from IKEA, but I bought it at a neighborhood garage sale for $1. My kids have played with him/her/it so much that the foot keeps falling off!

The little ball with the number “1” on it was in the dollar bin at Michael’s. It’s special to me because every time I see it, I think of this little couplet:

only one life, ’twill soon be past; only what’s done for Christ will last

Life is so very short. We need to make each and every moment count. That’s something I need to be reminded of on a daily basis.

Oh, and if anyone is wondering, the flowers in the canning jar come from my very overgrown wiegala. It’s a beautiful flowering shrub that is striking in a landscape. It’s also super hearty which is a must in my book!

Published in: on June 22, 2011 at 5:30 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2011/06/22/stylish-storage/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

