The Gallery Wall Revealed

Edited to add: I’m so sorry that the gallery wall photo wasn’t loading correctly. I think I’ve fixed it now. My apologies!!

I had a rough idea of what I wanted after searching blogland for some gallery wall inspiration.

All I did was gather up some of my favorite things from around the house, plus a couple of recent finds, like 

the frame of my favorite verse,

an original oil painting of the sea scored for $4 at a garage sale,

the silhouettes I made of my sons,

my papa’s pocket watch,

and some post-it notes in the shape of a bird who is perched on the notice board I made.

Pretty random stuff, let me tell ‘ya.

However, this is what the wall above my desk looks like now:

I’m really pleased with how it turned out. Much better than I had hoped – and for not a lot of money.

In fact, I spent less than $10 total out-of-pocket:  $4 for the oil painting in the upper right, $5 for the ampersand at Hobby Lobby and all of 50 cents for the candle sconce at a thrift store. Everything else I either made, like the book page wreath (the tutorial I used is found here) or took from somewhere else in the house.

Do you have a big blank wall somewhere in your house that could use a little inspiration? Leave a comment and let me know.

I linked this post up to Nester’s Best Yard Sale Finds EVER linky party.

Published in: on June 15, 2011 at 5:30 am  Comments (5)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2011/06/15/the-gallery-wall-revealed/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. you are so stinkin creative. i’ve been reading your posts for about a month or two. made the macaroni salad. it was great. waiting to make the recent appetizer and now i’ve just got to create a gallery wall. you’re adding to my ‘to do’ list girl. OK take care. hope all is well with you and the boys. loved the cute dresser in the closet. if there are any other posts about decorating that you are really proud of point me to the day or where I can read so i can add to my ‘to do’ list.

    gotta go kim. we’re horrible at keeping in touch.

  2. Hi Kim – Not sure why but the picture of the wall doesn’t show up? All the other pics do?? Looking forward to seeing how it turned out!

    • Oh Christy – thanks so much for letting me know. Not sure what happened, but I think it is fixed now!

  3. Yep, all fixed. Nicely done! Love all the different textures.

  4. That seascape is beautiful. All of it looks fab together. Well done!


Leave a Reply

