The little blue table that could

I went to an estate sale a couple of weeks ago. I didn’t mean to go so late in the day, but I couldn’t get there until the last forty-five minutes of the sale.

Turns out, that is a GREAT time to go because they’d rather wheel and deal on what’s left than haul everything away.

On the way out, I spied a little side table. It was sturdy, but in bad shape. The price was $12.50.

The sellers saw me looking at it and offered it to me for $5. Sold.

A bit of sanding and three coats of  light blue/aqua paint later and here she is, ready for my mom cave:

All I did was take the bright blue paint sample I used on my little dresser and mixed it with a lot of white paint until I got the shade I wanted. After it was dry, I distressed it with some more 100 grit sandpaper.

I love how the little table turned out. (I don’t know why the camera thinks the table is white, but trust me, in real life it is definitely aqua).

Stay tuned. I’ll reveal the gallery wall I finished this weekend and show you the $5 light fixture I spruced up with a coat of spray paint.

I love how it’s all coming together – and for not a lot of money.

I linked this post up to the Nester’s Best Yard Sale Finds EVER linky party and WhisperWood Cottage’s Authentic Style Series featuring Miss Mustard Seed.

Published in: on June 13, 2011 at 10:33 am  Comments (6)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2011/06/13/the-little-blue-table-that-could/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Beautiful table! What a great find for only $5!

  2. that turned out so nice! i love the pale blue. my poppop just gave me the same bowl and i have no idea who made it, do you? he told me it was milk glass but i’m not so sure. awesome job!

    • Hi there! I just checked the bottom and there is no marking so I can’t be sure. I’m also not sure if it truly is milk glass or not – the definition on Wikipedia wasn’t very helpful:) How sweet of your poppop!

      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Milk_glass

      • Thanks so much for looking! i have no idea what it is. it’s so funny because my poppop just gave it to me and then i saw your link pic from the nester. thanks for getting back to me!

  3. it looks great! i love the color you painted it, and there’s so much space for baskets or containers or whatever, so it’s so versatile. what is that lotus shaped bowl on top? i just got a set of 3 from a thrift store that looks just like that. too funny!

  4. Very pretty colour! 🙂 I’m sure it will look lovely once it’s in your room.


Leave a Reply

