Upgrade a Plain Reusable Grocery Tote

I have a love/hate relationship with those reusable totebags all the grocery stores, etc. are selling these days.

Sure, they are functional, eco-friendly, yada, yada, yada, but I just don’t want to be a walking billboard for every store and company in town. Plus, I ALWAYS forget to bring them into the store.

So what’s a girl to do?

While my husband and boys were outside shooting hoops last night (yea, the four-foot box doesn’t live in our bedroom anymore!), I decided to see if I could make these ugly bags a little bit cuter.

What do you think? Did I accomplish my mission?

I raided my very small fabric stash and found a lovely floral with brown, cream, green and aqua.

Incidentally, how wonderful would this color scheme be in a living room or bedroom? Hmmm…

I measured the space between the handles on the front panel and came up with 15 1/2″ tall and 7 3/4″ wide. I made a small cut in the fabric and then tore it to fray the edges. 

Then I used a zigzag stitch to sew the fabric to the front. I didn’t even bother to sew across the top.

Much improved, but I can do better.

I had this flower pin that I made ages ago and simply pinned it to the bag. It’s nothing more than a fake flower from a craft store with the stem cut off and one of those pin notions sewed to the back of it.

For the black bag, I made four fabric flowers using this tutorial and leftover scraps of fabric. The white is from some too-long curtains from IKEA, the gray is from my t-shirt refashion, the patterned fabric is from my apron and the other one is burlap from my stenciled pillow.

Remember the before?

Now here is the after:

Now maybe I won’t forget to take these cuties in with me to the grocery store anymore!

I linked this up to Frugal Friday at The Shabby Nest!

Published in: on May 25, 2011 at 1:56 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2011/05/25/upgrade-a-plain-reusable-grocery-tote/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. You got your sewing machine out! How did everything go? The bags are so cute and it probably didn’t take all that long.

    • I did! My sewing maching and I are now officially on speaking terms again. It really didn’t take that long at all. My next project is to attempt to make a 70″ round tablecloth for our patio. Wish me luck!!


Leave a Reply

