I made my own mayonnaise (plus a menu and recipes)

Martha Stewart, I am not. Just had to get that out of the way before I continue:)

Let me back up a bit…one day last week my husband had asked me to make some macaroni salad. No problem. As I started to boil the noodles, I realized I didn’t have any mayonnaise, which is a key ingredient.

Then the very same thing happened again two days later – and we had just returned from the grocery store. Ugh.

Hmmm…I wonder if I could find a recipe for it? A quick search on the internet revealed 4,030,000 recipes, give or take. So.not.kidding.

I settled on this one from Alton Brown. It’s quick and easy and honestly, it tasted FANTASTIC! Just like Hellmann’s only not as thick – and without any chemicals I can’t pronounce or icky preservatives. Wanna see?

Am I going to make my own mayo from here on out? I may or may not. But it did make my classic recipe for macaroni salad hit the spot!

Here’s what we had for our Sunday afternoon cookout:

  • super simple grilled pork chops – just salt and pepper each chop on both sides, brush with olive oil and grill over direct medium heat for 12 minutes. They were so flavorful and juicy!
  • buttered corn on the cob
  • macaroni salad (recipe follows)

Classic Macaroni Salad

Serves a lot. I forgot to halve this recipe. Just keepin’ it real:)

  • 4 C uncooked elbow macaroni
  • 1 C mayonnaise
  • 1/4 C white vinegar
  • 2/3 C sugar
  • 2 1/2 T prepared yellow mustard
  • 1 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 2 stalks celery, chopped (0ptional)
  • 1 green bell pepper, seeded and chopped

Bring a large pot of lightly salted water to a boil. Add the macaroni and cook until tender, about 8 minutes. Rinse under cold water and drain.

In a large bowl, mix together the mayonnaise, vinegar, sugar, mustard, salt and pepper. Stir in the onion, celery (if using), green pepper and macaroni. Best if refrigerated for at least four hours before serving to allow the flavors to blend.

* * * * *

For dessert we had watermelon and fresh blueberry pie – fresh from the grocery store that is.

And it was really good.

Joey and his milk mustache

Although I prefer to cook from scratch, sometimes it’s just not possible. I think it’s perfectly OK to take some shortcuts now and then.

So how about you? Have you been able to grill out yet this year?

Published in: on May 24, 2011 at 10:57 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2011/05/24/i-made-my-own-mayonnaise-plus-a-menu-and-recipes/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. This looks great Kim. I actually just pulled a recipe for Mayo offline for myself. During the summer I make a lot of ‘salads’ like tuna salad for sandwiches and then I make both a tuna and a shrimp noodle salad. Both are awesome. But it would be great to have a healthier mayo to use. You know, my neighbor and dear friend Sara will love this idea too as she already makes her own yogurt, vanilla extract, and much more – she is related to Martha Stewart I think. Anyway, thanks for sharing!!! 🙂
    Sarah

    • You are too funny! I love that we’re able to at least have the option now to make more of the stuff we normally would buy at the store. How fun to have such a great friend also be a neighbor – with the same name, no less!


Leave a Reply

