Let the (Garage Sale) Season Begin!

So…our neighborhood was having a garage sale this past weekend. We couldn’t make the rounds on Saturday as were traveling to a homeschool conference instead (more on that in a future post).

On Thursday night, I noticed my neighbors kitty korner from us were setting up for a sale. I thought I could offer to help or at least keep them company. They said there wasn’t much that I could do, but I was free to look around.

You know the ending to that story – I started a pile:)

PS, In case you were wondering, I did end up helping out a bit. I folded and organized what was already set out on the tables to help other shoppers find what they needed more quickly. It’s a sickness really. I have such a hard time managing time and money, but give me a closet and watch me go! Go figure.

Here is what I found:

vintage kitchen scale, $5. I love, love, love the chippy green paint and the little bit of rust, plus it still works! She said she got it when she lived in NY state. If only this little guy could talk…

two little topiaries, $1 each. They are now on my spring mantle because cut lilacs stay beautiful for all of 30 seconds.

eddie bauer clock, $3. Please pardon the dust on my nightstand!

linen curtain panels, $2. I bought them just for the fabric alone.

tops, $1 each. From the bottom up: NY and Co. bright pink long sleeve wrap sweater, Banana Republic brown short sleeve cardi, wrap yoga top from Target, Liz Claiborne 3/4 sleeve no-iron button up shirt, ruched teal cardi from Apt 9

assorted toys, from 25 cents to $2. The scary looking skeleton thing in the background is for Hot Wheels cars and is REALLY LOUD – which is probably why it was in the garage sale in the first place (wink:)

Do you like going to garage sales, hosting them or both? Leave a comment a let me know:)

I linked this post up to the Nester’s Best Yard Sale Finds EVER linky party and WhisperWood Cottage’s Authentic Style Series featuring Miss Mustard Seed.

Published in: on May 23, 2011 at 9:42 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2011/05/23/let-the-garage-sale-season-begin/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I like have garage sales (planning one for this coming weekend) more than going to them. But when I get great deals on things I need I feel like I’ve accomplished something.
    PS I share your “sickness.”

  2. Love the scale! You really scored some great deals! 🙂


Leave a Reply

