Field Trip to Shipshewana

My boys and I had the privilege of going to Shipshewana, Indiana, for a home school field trip this week.

We made pretzels:

(I don’t have to tell you that the best part was eating them fresh from the oven!)

made some music at a great local music shop (which I neglected to take a picture of),

watched a puppet show:

rode a carousel:

and had lunch with some new friends.

And I did something really impressive –  for me, anyway.

I found my way (all by myself, without a map or GPS) to an Amish kitchen and bakery called the Das Dutchman Essenhaus in Middlebury, IN.

Those who know me really well, know that I am more than a little directionally challenged. I once followed the same directions on the way back that I used to drive from Ann Arbor, MI to Peoria, IL and wound up somewhere in western Illinois. It was a very nice area, but I wanted to be home, thank you very much!)

Why did I want to go to Middlebury so badly?

My dad LOVES coconut cream pie. The only other dessert he will eat is ice cream – that’s it. So I took the opportunity to go a few extra miles out of my way to surprise my dad with this:

All 30 varieties of their pies are hand-made daily by women in the heart of Amish country. It’s heaven on a spoon I tell you.

I see him tomorrow and can.not.wait. to give it to him.

Neither my dad nor Cherie ever read this blog, so he should be really surprised.

I’ll let you know how it turns out!

Edited to add: My dad LOVED it. He was really surprised. I handed him the box and he looked at me with a smile and said, “Is this what I think it is?” Oh yeah. I’m a good daughter – at least that day I was, anyway:)

Published in: on May 20, 2011 at 5:18 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2011/05/20/field-trip-to-shipshewana/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Oh, we used to go to Shipshewana fairly often when I was a kid. Great memories.


Leave a Reply

