Bargain Beauty: Makeup (and one splurge)

When I was a kid, I really wanted to be a makeup artist. (Or a Solid Gold dancer, but that is another post entirely!)

Yep. I’ve always been different.

All of the other little girls in my kindergarten class wanted to be either a ballerina, a nurse, a teacher or an airline stewardess.

Can you tell I was born in the 70s?

Well, I didn’t ever achieve my goal of becoming a makeup artist, but I do still love to play with makeup.

I’ve found some products that not only work, they fit into my budget. And I’d like to share them with you.

True Match Foundation by L’Oreal Foundations are really tricky. This line is great because the coverage is medium (not too sheer, not too thick), super blendable, with an impressive shade of colors to choose from. I never leave the house without this on my face. It’s around $8.

Browser Brush on Brow Kit in Brunette by NYC I don’t think brow pencils look natural, so I use brow powder instead. This little kit is less than $5 and includes an angled brush. Having shapely and well-groomed brows is important because it opens up your entire face. It really makes a difference in your overall look with little effort.

Voluminous Mascara in Blackest Black by L’Oreal I’ve used this mascara consistently since college (and that was a while ago, ahem). Every single time I try another brand (Maybelline Great Lash, Max Factor 2000 Calorie and even a department store brand like Clinique) I am disappointed . In my opinion, other products just don’t perform like this one does. The only exception is its younger sister, Carbon Black Voluminous mascara, also by L’Oreal. I buy whichever one is on sale and I usually pay around $5 for it. Oh, and I always curl my lashes first. Eye Enhancers in Shimmering Sands by Cover Girl This is my go-to shadow for a classic, no fail look. Think Sunday morning church or an afternoon baby shower. This set of eyeshadows gives a subtle, natural look with a bit of sparkle. Very, very light and pretty and no creasing. Perfect for warm weather days.

Eye Pencil in Black Brown by Cover Girl Another staple I’ve been using since college. It goes on smooth, stays in place and the color is the perfect mix between black and brown. I just smudge it with my finger instead of using the attached sponge.

Fit Me Blush in Medium Pink by Maybelline This is a recent try and I like it. It has great color and goes on easily with a big fluffy blush brush. I think that I might have to eventually switch to a cream blush because my skin is getting drier, but for now this works really well.

Color Icon Lipliner in Brandywine by Wet-n-Wild This is the perfect natural lip color. All I do is swipe on some lip gloss or balm and then go over my lips with this lip pencil. It stays on forever and is a really pretty color.

In a New York Color Minute Quick Dry Nail Polish in Lincoln Center by NYC I don’t often paint my finger nails. I’d rather spend my time fixing up my face and tending to what I wear. But I do love the classic look of dark red-painted toes. It just makes me feel more put together – even if no one ever sees them. And because of my very full life, I never even consider buying a nail polish that takes more than one minute to dry. I love this and it’s $1.72 at Walmart. Use a top coat every other day and it’ll extend the wear considerably.

And my one splurge…

4-in-1- Pressed Mineral Makeup with  SPF 15 by Pur Minerals I never thought that a powder could have such wonderful and complete coverage until I tried this. It is marketed as a foundation, concealer, powder and SPF all in one product – hence the $26 price tag. I use it only as a concealer to cover up my spots and dark circles. The only reason I don’t use it all over my face is because it’s expensive and I’d go through it much faster than my budget would allow.This truly is an amazing product that lives up to its claims – and I’m not even being paid to say that!)

What are some of your favorite beauty bargains?

Published in: on May 19, 2011 at 5:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2011/05/19/bargain-beauty-makeup-and-one-splurge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

