I did it!

I just finished my first year of homeschooling.

And I didn’t even pull out all of my hair!

I’ve learned so very much this past year…about each of my sons, about myself and, most of all, about the Lord.

Not to mention that I can also rattle off the names of the original thirteen colonies. Aren’t you impressed?

You see, I didn’t want to homeschool. In fact, I’m the last person anyone thought would ever homeschool. (I know because I’ve been told so on more than one occasion)!

But my husband was convinced God was leading our family in that direction.

Me? I didn’t get that message, if you know what I’m saying!

I came up with a list of reasons why it wouldn’t work and I proceeded to tell my husband and the Lord all of them. Multiple times.

So then what happened?

God changed my heart.

I didn’t think I could do it. And honestly, I didn’t think I’d want to.

But I’ve been pleasantly surprised by all of the unexpected blessings our family has received. Not so much because we decided to homeschool, but because we were obedient to the Lord and we trusted Him to figure out all of the details. 

Once I yielded my will to His, the idea became more appealing. And things started to fall into place.

Even though I still didn’t think I could do it, I made myself try – and God provided.

“My grace is sufficient for you, for My strength is made perfect in weakness” (2 Cor 12:9)

I still mess up and I still have so much more to learn. But guess what…I actually like homeschooling. And when I’m tempted to give up, I remember that I’m only the vessel that God is using. He is doing the real work. I just have to be willing.

And that is the biggest blessing of all.

* * * * *

End note:  Please don’t misunderstand…my purpose in writing this post isn’t to convince you that you have to homeschool. Or to make you feel guilty if you can’t or don’t.

I just want to encourage you to make yourself available to the Lord and to decide once and for all that you will follow Him no matter what. When you do that, He is able to do “exceedingly, abundantly above all that we ask or think” (Eph 3:20) and He gets the glory only He deserves.

Published in: on May 18, 2011 at 9:26 am  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2011/05/18/i-did-it/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Be a ★ !


Leave a Reply

