Somebody stop me!

You already know I have a thing for pillows.

You may not know I also have a thing for chairs:  (Remember when I borrowed my girlfriend’s minivan to pick up this guy? And who could forget about these)?

In fact, the weekend before last I brought home this chair:

He was at a church rummage sale (I NEVER pass them up!). I couldnt help it. He was in great shape and I couldn’t resist the tufts. OK, maybe orange wouldn’t have been my first choice of color, but I didn’t care. The price was right ($20) and he was coming home with me. The legs were a light honey color circa 1980. No problem. Two coats of Rustoleum’s Espresso satin paint and he has a new lease on life. (I plan on adding some nailhead trim soon, but couldn’t wait to show you)!

Then last Saturday, I walked into Goodwill during the last half hour they were open.

I was just going to look. Honest.

I swung by the home decor section. Nothing.

Then I stopped by the dresses. (They are my favorite piece of clothing ever. One piece dressing. Instant outfit. Just add shoes).

But I didn’t find anything there either.

And then…I know you know what’s coming.

I saw this:

It’s a vintage black leather office chair. Circa 1975. In perfect condition. It’s from Steelcase (a high-end furniture manufacturer in Grand Rapids, Mich.).

It’s price? $9.99. I think this by far is my best find ever from Goodwill.

Oh, and in case you were wondering…Yes, I was alive when this chair was manufactured – though I was probably wearing a diaper eating a pickle and walking around on our green shag carpet with an empty milk jug. Hey, it was the 70s!

As I was waiting in line for my vintage score, I noticed these:

Perfect condition. Six bucks. And they were coming home with me, too.

I had a 20 percent off coupon, so that means I bought the really cool vintage chair and some like-new Nine West leather heels for $12.

I love Goodwill.

And I love my new chairs.

Published in: on May 13, 2011 at 9:10 am  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2011/05/13/somebody-stop-me/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Love the chairs. Funny thing is Tom said he loves the black chair and slowly wants to make it his!! 🙂 There’s some inside scoop for you!! LOL
    However, he said he thinks he is slowly getting kicked out of his office and might have to look at carpet remnants for the basement. That is so funny. You two rock!!! LOL


Leave a Reply

