To You, Mom, On Mother’s Day

I missed you today, mom.

I thought about you a lot.

I wish I could see you. Hear you laugh. Feel your hugs. Listen to your stories.

And tell you about my latest adventures.

I wish you could see the boys and how much they’ve grown.

You wouldn’t recognize them, they’re so big!

Oh wait –  of course you would.

They made me cards for Mother’s Day.

Just like I used to make for you.

I made them peanut butter and jelly sandwiches – just like you used to make for me. 

I kissed some boo boos today and gave lots of hugs.

I played a game with them and giggled along.

And I made sure to look each child in the eye and tell him how much I love him.

Just like you used to do for me.

I thanked God for the wonderful gift that children are…

and the wonderful example I had in you.

All I can say is thank you. For everything.

I want you to know how very much I loved you.

And still do.

Bonnie Jean Viers

1932-2004

Published in: on May 8, 2011 at 9:57 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2011/05/08/to-you-mom-on-mothers-day/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

