Happy Cinco de Mayo!

It simply means, “the fifth of May” and it’s one of the very few things I remember from my high school Spanish class. Other than, “Donde esta el bano?” or “Where is the bathroom!?” (Sorry, Mrs. Philo.)

Do you celebrate today?

Or should I ask, “Do you celebrate every day?”

Personally, I find that life is stressful enough already, so I like to have an excuse to celebrate both the big and little things in life.

It’s your birthday? Let’s celebrate! Got a raise? Let’s celebrate! It’s Tuesday? Let’s celebrate!

To me, it makes life a whole lot lighter and a lot more fun.

Plus, I’ve also found that that kind of family bonding goes a long way when the times get really tough.

All that to say…if you are celebrating today, here are some links to a few Mexican recipes I’ve posted previously:

Easy Cheesy Chili Chicken

Southwestern Salad with Cilantro-Lime Vinaigrette

Vegetable Salsa

Tasty Guacamole

I’m going to make My boys will gladly don the ridiculously huge sombreros I bought at the dollar store for our humble dinner of quesadillas and chips. (It’s the only Mexican meal I can whip up without making a trip to the store).

my very silly boys, age 5

Even so, maybe we can find a festive music station on Pandora and celebrate the fact that it is Cinco de Mayo.

Or Thursday. Ole!

Published in: on May 5, 2011 at 5:30 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2011/05/05/happy-cinco-de-mayo/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Happy Cinco De Mayo Kim!!! What a fun festive day. Tom told me you were making mexican tonight – yummy!!! You really need to try and get a picture of Tom wearing one of those hats!!!! That would be priceless. LOL
    Have a great day!
    Sarah

    • You know I totally would, but he won’t cooperate because he knows he’ll end up on the ‘ol blog! Happy Cinco de Mayo to you, too!


Leave a Reply

