Lavender Sachets

This is a sweet little project you can make to freshen up your linens. Here is what you’ll need:

  • scraps of fabric
  • needle and thread
  • dried lavender

Notes: If you don’t have even a small stash of fabric, you can buy fat quarters from Walmart for about a dollar. One square will yield several 5-inch sachets. Also, I bought a nice-sized bag of lavender from the bulk section of the health food store for less than $2.

To begin, cut out 5-inch squares from your scrap fabric, two for each sachet, and put the right sides together.

Stitch on three sides, leaving a gap in the fourth side to stuff your lavender. I used my sewing machine, but these can be quickly made by hand as well.

Turn inside out and fill with lavender.

Then handstitch the hole closed.

Easy peasy. I made seven sachets in less than an hour…

…though I did run out of lavender.

Oops.

No worries, next time I’m over on that side of town, I’ll pick some up.

Here is a picture of my sachet happily hanging out in my camisole drawer. And for those of you who think I never wear color (that’s you Liz if you happen to read this!) may I present the evidence…

One more note before I go:  When you can’t really smell the lavender anymore, just give the sachet a little squeeze to release more of the delightful and relaxing scent.

I’ll be back tomorrow with some easy and frugal gift ideas just in time for Mother’s day:)

Published in: on May 4, 2011 at 9:01 am  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2011/05/04/lavender-sachets/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. You’re funny! I was also going to say though that I recognized two of your fabrics. I might have to make a couple of these for our linen closet. Thanks for the idea.


Leave a Reply

