Restoring Order

I mentioned that I went to a homeschool conference last weekend. One of the things that I came away with is the need for me to develop good habits (and say goodbye to the bad ones). This is especially true because I want to model good behavior for my boys so they are encouraged to establish good habits. The earlier, the better.

I’ll share more with you about what I learned next week, but for now, here are a few guidelines for restoring order to your home and your life.

1.  Make sure everything has a place and put everything in its place. We’ve all heard this before, but it’s so true. When there’s one designated place for an item – from your car keys to a pair of scissors – life runs more smoothly. I think of this now when I go thrifting or garage sale-ing. (Is that even a word?!) If I don’t have room for it, I pass it up no matter how good of a deal it is.

2.  Don’t put it down, put it away. I’m so guilty of this. I often think, “I’ll take care of this later.” Then before I know it, there is a whole lot of “laters” I need to take care of.

3.  One in, one out. As someone who was raised by parents who were born during the Great Depression, this one is really hard for me. If I buy a new sweater or book, than I should give one away. That is a great way to control the amount of stuff you have if you are disciplined enough to follow through. I’m not. Not yet, anyway. You’ll be happy to know that I don’t save and reuse the plastic cottage cheese containers like my parents did though:)

4.  Be a finisher. Are you really good at starting projects, but not so good at finishing them? Yeah, me too. As I type this, I am looking at an unfinished dresser in our living room and a pillow that I started, but didn’t ran out of time before it was done. Oops.

5.  Focus on one thing at a time. This goes along with #4 above. I have so many things that I like to do and I want to do them all now! But sadly, that isn’t possible. I guess I remember the quote I wrote about in my very first post.

6. Have a plan. Planning doesn’t come easy to me. I’m more of a spontaneous, “Let’s drive to the beach and watch the sunrise” kind of girl. Only to realize when we got there that the beach was in the west. Yes, that did really happen early in our marriage and my husband has never let me live it down. Come to think of it, that also explains the fact that I’m directionally challenged. Ahem.

Anyway, I hope these serve as good reminders, not guilt-inducers. None of us are perfect and we’ll make ourselves quite miserable if we try! However, we can challenge ourselves to stretch and grow a little bit more every day.

Now it’s your turn. Which one of these are you really good at? Which one could you use a little bit of improvement? Leave me a comment and let me know.

Published in: on May 2, 2011 at 10:51 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2011/05/02/restoring-order/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

