Feeling Blue?

I am, but not in a dreary way…blue is the color I painted my dresser.

As in BRIGHT blue. How bright?

Oh yeah. I’m a little wild and crazy!

The child-size dresser I painted was made by my maternal great-grandfather who was a carpenter. At some point, it was painted white and passed down to me.

This is what it looked like before:

I love it not only because of its history, but also because it’s useful.

Right now it’s living in our walk-in closet and holds all of my socks, camisoles, nylons, etc.

It looked OK with its plain wooden knobs. But one day, I looked at it again and thought it needed a little sprucing up.

So it’s still in our closet, but now it’s bright blue. Really bright.

I also distressed it a bit with some 100 grit sandpaper to let some of the white paint and wood show through…

…and added some cool new knobs.

Total cost: $30.

I spent $3 on the paint sample, $2 for sandpaper and $25 for new knobs. (Yes, the knobs were pricey and I’m cheap frugal, but in my defense, they were half off at Hobby Lobby).

I LOVE IT. Every time I look at it, it makes me smile. I took a chance and it paid off.

And the coolest thing about paint is that if I didn’t like it, I can always paint over it.

Now, would my great-grandfather roll over in his grave if he knew I painted something he worked so hard to create? Maybe. But I’d like to think he’d be happy to know something he made is still being used three generations later and loved by a great-granddaughter he never knew.

Does something in your house need a little sprucing up? What could you paint a fresh new color?

You just might surprise yourself. And chase the real blues away:)

I linked this up to Frugal Friday at The Shabby Nest.

Published in: on May 2, 2011 at 5:30 am  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2011/05/02/feeling-blue/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. That is a beautiful transformation! I love the knobs and the color is gorgeous!


Leave a Reply

