Refashioning a Basic T-shirt

Wanna make this cute t-shirt with a ruffled neckline? It’s easy. (Please excuse the blurry pic, it was taken by one of my eight-year olds!).

I started off with a plain grey t-shirt. Actually, two.

Both are sleep shirts from Gillian O’Malley. One was picked up for $1 while thrifting and the other one came with the pajama set my husband bought me from Target for Christmas.

Begin by cutting up one of the sleeves into long strips, about 1 1/2 or 2 inches wide.

Set your sewing machine to the longest stitch, usually 4.

Sew down the center of the strip with your machine from the edge of one end to the other. DO NOT BACKSTITCH.

Once you are done, remove your strip.

Grab one of the threads (mine was the top one) and pull gently at both ends to create the ruffle.

Decide where you want the ruffle to go. For this shirt, I thought it would be cute to have one at the collar. I pinned mine about a 1/2 inch down from the seam at the neck. Then stitch it onto your shirt right on top of your basting stitch. You’ll want to reset your stitch length to 2.5.

This time be sure to backstitch at both ends to hold the ruffle securely in place.

I liked it a lot, but thought another ruffle would be even cuter!

So I made another ruffle, pinned it and then stitched it to the shirt right underneath the first ruffle.

Here is the finished tee:

I love it!! What a cute and simple way to dress up a basic t-shirt.

Hmmm, I think I will actually wear this one out of the house…

Published in: on April 29, 2011 at 9:28 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2011/04/29/refashioning-a-basic-t-shirt/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. WOW!! That looks great! I would have never thought it would turn out so cute!!

    • Thanks so much! It was really easy to do and I’m not a sew-er! KLC


Leave a Reply

