Easy Easter Cupcakes

I just remembered this morning that I need to bring a treat to our family’s Easter dinner tomorrow.

Oops.

(not panicking yet)

A quick search of my pantry and cupboards was fruitless.

(still not panicking)

However, I did have a box of chocolate cake mix on hand.

(rejoice!)

I scanned the index of my favorite cupcake cookbook – Cupcakes from the Cake Doctor, by Anne Byrn – and found an entry for…Easter cupcakes.

The recipe called for a white cake mix and coconut flavoring, neither of which I had on hand. So, I made a batch of chocolate cupcakes and chocolate buttercream frosting (I know, not very Easter-ish) and then followed the directions to make them look like a little bird’s nest.

You only need three ingredients:  shredded coconut, green food coloring and jelly beans.

All you do is put about a cup of coconut and a few drops of green food coloring in a plastic ziploc bag and shake it a few times. It should look a bit like Easter grass:

 

Then, top the frosted cupcake with the green coconut and put a few jelly beans (to resemble eggs) in the middle.

The book also suggested taking a piece of Twizzlers licorice and sticking it in the top of each cupcake on both sides to make it look like the handle of a basket. Since I didn’t have an licorice, I didn’t do it, but I like how they turned out anyway:)

And, I’m really happy that I have a homemade treat to bring to my family’s Easter celebration tomorrow!

Published in: on April 23, 2011 at 12:07 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2011/04/23/easy-easter-cupcakes/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

