Easy, Last-Minute Easter Table Setting

I thought after yesterday’s very personal post that I’d give you something much lighter today:  How to set an easy last-minute Easter table using what you already have on hand.

Here’s what I came up with:

Do you remember how I repurposed a twin sheet as a bedroom curtain? I repurposed it again as a tablecloth. Yep, I took it down from my window and put it on the table.

Then, I layered a child’s bright green fleece throw on top.

In case you are wondering, no, I didn’t take that off my son’s bed and put it on the table! It was clean and folded in the closet!

For a centerpiece, I used the calla lily that my husband brought home for me from the grocery store about three weeks ago. He remembered that our wedding invitations had a calla lily on them. How sweet is that? Or, maybe he wanted to try again after my Christmas cactus died.

I took off the purple wrapper it came with, cut out a same-size square from burlap and wrapped it with a ribbon:

For the place setting, I used my everyday white china and layered it with a yellow dessert plate that was my mom’s. She told me that she was a hostess at a cafeteria in Battle Creek in the late 40s. When they got new dishes, she was allowed to take these. Only five of them have survived. The little bird was a dollar store find.

Do you remember these vintage Jell-O cups?

I used them as a bowl, cut a square out of a brightly colored fat square from Walmart, added some jelly beans and an egg. (Pretend with me that they are hard-boiled, colored or decoupaged with cute scrapbook paper and stamped personalized with a name. I couldn’t use my natural-dyed eggs for obvious reasons)!

Sweet, simple and frugal – just the way I like it.

How would you set a table using what you already have on hand? Are you hosting or traveling somewhere?

Leave a comment. I’d love to hear from you!

Published in: on April 22, 2011 at 10:10 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2011/04/22/easy-last-minute-easter-table-setting/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

