Ideas for Kids’ Easter Baskets

 

Hi everyone!

With Easter less than a week away, I thought I’d share a couple of great posts I found online. Both have some frugal and creative ideas for putting together Easter baskets for your children.

Mine just turned eight. Although we don’t celebrate the Easter bunny and they are getting too old for the cutesy Easter baskets, I do still like to surprise them with a special treat that day.

The first post comes from Emily at Jones Design Company. She is just one classy lady and so very creative!

I plan to make each guy a variation of this bunny and fill a metal tin from the dollar spot at Target with candy, matchbox cars and other small treats. The punch balloons I put in the party favor bags from my boys’ birthday party were a big hit with the kids so that’s another idea of what to include. 

The second post comes from Living On A Dime and gives lots of alternatives to use INSTEAD of the traditional Easter basket, as well as ideas for what to put in it!

I’ve used the plastic sand buckets with a shovel from the dollar store in the past and filled them with candy, small toys and a coloring or activity book. They are just the right size, didn’t cost much and my guys really loved them. Plus, I liked the fact that they could take the buckets to the beach or to a park with a sandbox.

You can’t really do that with a leftover Easter basket, now can you?!

One other idea to consider…instead of buying the colored plastic Easter grass, I take a few pieces of brightly colored construction paper and run it through my paper shredder to make the basket filler. This also works with those random pieces of wrapping paper that are either too big or too small to be useful anymore.

So cute and festive – and free!

* * * * *

Although it’s really fun to put together baskets and toys for the kids, I have to remind myself of the real reason we celebrate this holiday.

Jesus, our precious Lord and Savior, suffered a criminal’s death on the cross to pay the penalty for our sin, and rose again on the third day.

Hallelujah!

Published in: on April 19, 2011 at 5:30 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2011/04/19/ideas-for-kids-easter-baskets/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

