Road Trip and Some Vintage Finds

Last Saturday, my boys and I headed down to Indiana with a friend to browse some vintage and antique shops.

What fun! (For me anyway. For the boys? Not so much).

Want  to see what I found?

vintage measuring cup, $0.50

Jell-O molds, $3 for a set of three

(Wouldn’t these be cute to use as an Easter place setting with a cupcake liner and some colorful jelly beans?)

salt and pepper shakers, $4 for the set

orphaned silver ladle, $0.50

I have an idea of how I can use these on our outdoor patio this summer. Stay tuned…

cow creamer, $2

Note that he is NOT vintage, as evidenced by the “Made in China” stamped on his underside, however, for $2 I was hooked!

wooden garden caddy, $8

I plan to clean him out really, really well and use him to hold utensils and napkins for dinners on our patio.

And last but not least…

my vintage grain (or in this case seed) sack, $7.50.

I was on a mission to come home with at least one vintage grain sack. They sell for $30+ online, but I thought if I was patient, I would find one cheaper (and I did, yea)!

The grain sack pillows I’ve seen around blogland are great, but they are way, way out of my price range. I’m going to try my hand at making one instead. We have a green couch in our living room, so I think it will go perfectly.

Check back soon to see how it turns out. Edited to add: it turned out great. Check it out here.

Do you thrift? If so, what’s on your list?

Published in: on April 16, 2011 at 5:30 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2011/04/16/road-trip-and-some-vintage-finds/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

