Bottlecap Magnets

For my boys’ birthday a couple of weeks ago, we took a road trip to Indiana to buy one of our boys a guitar that he’d been wanting for months. (Our other son got a snare drum, which means I promptly stocked up on Excedrin. Lord, help us all)!

Anyway, while we were there we had lunch at this cute little hot dog-n-pretzel place. We gave our boys a treat – soda pop – in old-fashioned glass bottles complete with bottle caps. And not the twist-off kind.

As I was enjoying my Coke (that I can’t bring myself to give up), I had a thought…wouldn’t they make great magnets?

While no one was looking, I promptly dug through the bottle caps left by countless others to find the coolest ones. Where was my husband, you say?

He was in hiding.

So I decided to test out my theory a few days after we got home.

I took the bottlecaps, some Liquid Nails and some button magnets and went to work.

It’s so easy. Take some Liquid Nails and put it on the inside of the bottlecap.

Warning, this is pretty noxious stuff.  I should’ve gone outside.

Then take the magnet and put it in the center – without getting any on your hands. If you do, nail polish remover works great. Just sayin’.

I let mine dry overnight.

Then I put them to use on my fridge:

I just love all of the imperfections of this one:

And here’s my collection:

Trash you can use.  Gotta love that!

One word of caution, though. The edges of the bottlecaps can be sharp. If you decide to make these, please use them on a textured metal surface rather than a smooth and shiny one. I hope that helps!

I’m linking this up to Frugal Friday at The Shabby Nest.

Published in: on April 14, 2011 at 11:12 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2011/04/14/bottlecap-magnets/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Great story behind those cute magnets! So vintage & cool! Thanks for sharing!

  2. What a score! Those caps are so sweet and wonderful, I need some now!


Leave a Reply

