Restyling A Mousepad

Here’s a super simple, quick and easy craft project.

I’ve had the same mousepad for more than a decade. It was plain black and worked just fine, but it had no style. I knew I could do better.

This is what you’ll need:

  • a mousepad, in need of a makeover 
  • sharpie
  • scissors
  • enough scrap fabric to cover your mousepad
  • spray adhesive (available at any craft store or Walmart)
  • about 10 minutes

I chose this map fabric because 1) my husband and I use the same computer and I didn’t think he wanted it to be too girly, 2) it goes with the “travel” theme in his office, and 3) it was leftover from a previous project.

Lay your mousepad on top of the WRONG side of the fabric and trace around it with your sharpie.

Tip:  If your fabric has a repeating pattern, like my map fabric above, make sure your favorite part of the fabric is centered on top of your mousepad.

Cut it out.

Go outside. Repeat go outside…you’ll want to use the spray adhesive in a well-ventilated area!

Lay your mousepad right side up on some newspaper. Read the directions on the can of spray adhesive. Mine said to spray it 6-8 inches away, wait one minute (read: take a sip of your tea while it’s still reasonably hot) and then position the two pieces together. So that’s what I did.

Here’s what I ended up with:

I love this one because, if you’re like me, you use a computer every day – which means you use a mousepad every day. So, why not take ten minutes and give it a little bit of style?

Easy. Peasy. Done!

Published in: on April 11, 2011 at 9:48 am  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2011/04/11/restyling-a-mousepad/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Wow – that looks awesome. Just know that I was reading your blog while talking to your husband. I told him his new mouse pad looks cool and he said, “well, it was black this morning”. LOL I really like it though – great job!


Leave a Reply

