Scrap Wrap

I bought a present for my friend’s daughter who celebrates her fifth birthday on Saturday.

I was so proud of myself for picking out a present a little girl might like that I completely forgot about wrapping it.

Oops.

Since I have two boys, I find myself with a shortage of cute girly pink wrapping paper!!

What to do?

Scrounge around the house and gather up anything even remotely colored pink come up with something entirely creative using what I already had on hand.

Here’s what I came up with:

from left to right: leftover fabric from a previous project, a flower from the dollar bin at Michael’s, brown craft paper, a deckle edge cutter from Martha Stewart Crafts (scored for $5 with a coupon – LOVE that thing!) and some pink and red curling ribbon

First, I cut a piece of the brown craft paper to size with the deckle edge (totally optional!) and wrapped the present.

Next, I made a small cut in a long piece of my scrap fabric and tore the edge for a shabby chic look

and wrapped it around the present. I didn’t even secure it to the package.

To hold the fabric in place, I made a headband, similar to the ones that very-talented Emily makes and sells at Jones Design Company.

All I did for mine was cut a length of elastic to 16 inches, stitch the ends together and pin on the flower:

Then I put the headband on the present and over my fabric scrap.

 To finish it off, I made a simple tag from some orange scrapbook paper leftover from my robot invitations, and printed out the recipient’s name on the computer (font: Batik Regular, size 22).

I do hope she likes it – the gift and the headband. I know she’ll look just darlin’ in it!

PS If it looks like it took a long time to put together, it didn’t. It honestly took me longer to write this post than it did to wrap the present –  including the time to gather the materials and take the pictures!

Enjoy!

I’m linking this up to Frugal Friday at The Shabby Nest.

Published in: on April 8, 2011 at 9:34 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2011/04/08/scrap-wrap/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

