Eight Years Ago Today…

twin boys came into our world.

Two full months early.

Jack, one day old

Josiah, one day old

They were so tiny. Jack was only 4 lbs, 2 oz. Josiah was my chunker at 4 lbs, 12 oz.

Their lungs were fully formed, but neither little fella was able to suck, swallow and breathe all at the same time like a full term baby can.

So each little boy had a tube for oxygen and one for feeding. The feeding tube went through their nostril and down into their tiny bellies.

Even the preemie diapers were way too big.

But God is good.

We were able to take both of our boys home after only nine days in the NICU.

In my opinion, this was a miracle, because the neonatologist had told us originally that they would have to be in the incubators until their due date, May 23.

I remember we were so overwhelmed. Sleep deprived. And very scared.

But God was with us.

While I was still in the hospital recovering, Tom was busily at home putting the cribs together and gathering all the supplies we needed.

Not one diaper in the house and yet TWO babies were on their way home!

But God provided everything we needed. And more.

He answered our prayers for a baby and gave us, not one, but two perfectly healthy baby boys.

After my miscarriage, I doubted in God’s goodness.

But my sweet husband looked at me and said, “When God takes something away, He always gives you something more.”

And he was right.

Now we have two happy, healthy, creative and high energy eight-year-old sons.

I still can’t believe we had twins.

What a shock.

But that is a story for another time.

My prayer is that Jack and Josiah would grow up to be godly gentlemen – men who genuinely love the Lord and desire above all else to serve Him only.

That’s really hard to do in this day and age.

In fact, without God, it’s impossible.

But then again, the impossible is God’s specialty.

Father in heaven, how I praise you for Josiah and Jack. You have so graciously have blessed us with not one child, but two. Bless us with all the wisdom, patience and discernment needed to bring them up in the fear and admonition of you. In the precious name of Jesus I pray, Amen.

Published in: on April 1, 2011 at 4:22 pm  Comments (4)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2011/04/01/eight-years-ago-today/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Great post! I feel blessed that I have gotten to know your family . . . even if it is mostly from Tom’s point of view. LOL 🙂 No really, you are so blessed to have two wonderful God-loving little men. I hear stories all the time and it is so inspiring .. . you and Tom do a great job!

    • Thank you so much – I feel the same way about you guys. I think you are doing a great job with your little one as well and I do hope one day we’ll actually get to meet!

  2. Your post gave me chill-bumps. I have TWO sets of twins…identical twin boys from my husband’s first marriage and I have 5-yr-old fraternal twin boys. I, like you, still can’t believe I have twins…their “babyhood” is a blur. I had never been so busy in my life, but I can’t even remember what life was like without them. They are a true blessing…even though their horns sometimes hold up their halos!

    • Wow, two sets of twins. To say you are busy is such an understatement! I’m laughing about your “horns and halos” comment…I can totally relate. I try to remind myself to enjoy this busy season in life because before I know it, it will become a blur to us as well. Thank you so much for taking the time to stop by and leave a comment:)


Leave a Reply

